The EVA awards on reporting violence against women

Entries for 2012 are now closed, but I find this interesting enough to post. For one, isn’t this awesome to have awards on reporting violence against women (VAW)? And for another, the site has a 2-page document with advice on reporting VAW. Some of it is familiar – not blaming the victim, not excusing the perpetrator, etc. By the way, the organization is in Australia.

EVA awards

Read the reporting guidelines here.

Gender Justice Uncovered

Wow! I loved hearing about this award. It uncovers sexism in courtrooms, a supposed area of objectivity in most societies, that Mothers Rights folks, among other groups, will recognize as a blatant misconception. Moreover, it offers a trip to Madrid for those nominating the top 3 most heinious abuses.

Women’s Link Worldwide

In every country, regardless of its political system, culture or religion, what judges and courts say has a tremendous influence on people’s day-to-day lives. With your participation we continue to uncover the most sexist and discriminatory court decisions or statements and highlight those that advance gender equality.

Nominate your decision today!

2011 Courage in Journalism award

Here’s some info on a Courage in Journalism award:

2011 Courage in Journalism

From the IWMF Web site:

It takes courage to report the news in many parts of the world. Each year, the International Women’s Media Foundation honors that courage and promotes the importance of a free press with its Courage in Journalism Awards, the only international awards that recognize the bravery of women journalists. Nominees risk political persecution, physical injury and death in their efforts to expose corruption and champion human rights.

Global Media Awards

“The Population Institute released today its annual “Call for Entries” for its Global Media Awards (GMA) program. This year marks the 31st  Anniversary of the GMA. The program is a global competition that encourages participation from individuals and organizations in all continents and regions. This year’s December award dinner, which will be held in San Francisco, will honor a wide range of journalists and media for their outstanding coverage of population, family planning and reproductive health issues. The awards serve to stimulate high standards of journalism and full and accurate reporting on issues related to population. By encouraging better coverage of population and development issues, the GMAs serve to educate policymakers, opinion leaders and the general public about the impacts of population growth and the benefits of ensuring that all women have access to family planning and reproductive health services.”

For more info: The Population Institute

Yayori award

Here’s an award for young female human rights writers, particularly geared towards those in Asia…

Yayori Award

The Yayori Award focuses on women activists, journalists, and artists who work at the grassroots level with socially marginalized peoples in order to create a 21st century free from war and discrimination against women. Younger activists are especially encouraged to apply so that the Yayori Award can support future leaders.

We will select an individual or a group from mainly the Asian region and offer an award certificate and a prize amount of 500,000 yen. In principle, for winners of the Yayori Award from overseas, the Women’s Fund
for Peace and Human Rights will cover only transportation and accommodation expenses to attend the presentation ceremony in Tokyo.

Individuals and groups with nominees in mind are encouraged to submit recommendations for any and all appropriate candidates through the submission of a nomination form and all applicable references. Self-nomination won’t be accepted. The reference material that is submitted will not be returned. The form and the references shall be submitted in English. For convenience, it is recommended that the form and the reference be submitted as an e-mail

Nomination form:
An application shall be filled out on the designated form. The form is downloadable here (click the download button) or is available from the Committee for the Yayori Award at

The Women’s Fund for Peace and Human Rights will ask the selection committee to run a strict examination and evaluation process of the nominees. In accordance with a report by the committee, the board of the Women’s Fund will decide the winners.

Nomination deadline:
August 31, 2010
Selection announcement:
November 1, 2010
Award presentation ceremony:
December 4, 2010
Note: The Women’s Fund for Peace and Human Rights will be consulting with experts in women’s human rights activities throughout various countries and regions in order to nominate a Yayori Award candidate.